Who said life would slow down after graduation?!?

Well, I thought it would…but I was wrong. I am just filling my time with other things besides studying. Catching up with friends and family…driving up to N. Wisconsin for a little R&R and trying to get the house in order. It’s amazing how quickly a 1000 square foot loft can become a disorganized little mess when you are in grad school. Top it all off with running down to the Farm a couple times a week to keep things going….life gets away from you.

Let’s talk about the farm for a minute. Things are going well. The garden is going gangbusters. But Simon and I both agree…it would be a million times better if we were living down there full time and able to tend to it everyday. The weeds get out of control FAST! If more then 3 days goes by without tending to them….well, lets just say it isn’t pretty. This little garden experiment really reminded me of my novice status when it comes to farming/gardening. I’ve always managed my little raised beds in the city but the sheer size of the farm often leaves me overwhelmed. But, again…living down there will make it easier to manage.

When we were away last week, my Dad managed to get down to the farm a couple times to check on things. He got some good tomatoes…we came home to ALOT of tomatoes that were ready to be picked. Lost some watermelons b/c the rotted on the vine. We’ve been getting lots of rain at the farm.  That bummed me out b/c they looked great. Managed to pick 2 tiger melons. But the sheer amount of tomatoes is awe inspiring! Will be canning some sauce in the up coming days.

Whew….I’m sure there will be more to add soon. Our life is always changing. Always.

Leave a comment