St. Louis’ Urban Garden: New Roots Urban Farm

I read an interesting article in the NY Times this weekend: Urban Farmers’ Crops Go From Vacant Lot to Market

It made me think about our own town. I am a product of the city…born and raised downtown, went to grammar school, high school and university within a 5 mile radius of the city center. When I moved back to St. Louis, I bought a home 8 blocks from where I grew up and my parents still reside. However, I married a boy who grew up on a farm…..and the idea of living rurally has tempted me ever since. I am always looking for ways to bring the rural life to our little city spot. As the years have passed, it has become more and more apparent to me that I am wasteful. So, I gave my car away…to my brother who needed it. He is a farmer in rural Arkansas and could use the truck. I take the bus now…..I should ride my bike….that is the plan for this summer. Simon and I share one car. Sometimes it’s a hassle…but only because I have become so accustomed to driving everywhere. Just b/c I want to go to Target to peruse the items, doesn’t mean that I should waste the fuel. I have learned to make lists and be more cognizant of my time, use of the car and reasoning behind our purchases.

I’m embarrassed to say that we don’t recycle. I have lots of poor excuses: the city doesn’t offer free recycling, there is no where to store all of our recyclables in the kitchen, it’s dirty, causes bugs….the list in my head went on and on. Well….starting today we will begin to recycle. I don’t care if the blue box sits in the middle of the kitchen and doesn’t match the cabinets and the people tromping through our home (as it is on the market for sale) finds it ugly…..we will begin recycling.

I do use a canvas grocery bag.

Anyway, I digress…..the article led me to think about Downtown St. Louis. We have ALOT of vacant land downtown, especially north of Downtown. My family had a restaurant and tavern in N. St. Louis for over 30 years. The lot the tavern stood upon is now empty…the previous location is now part of HWY 70.

Is anyone using these vacant lots to their advantage? The answer is YES. New Roots Urban Farm.

Sadly, I don’t know much about New Roots….but I’m hoping to change that soon. Take a moment to visit their website. Help out if you can. I’m looking forward to meeting these folks and supporting their Farmer’s Market.  It’s every Sat from 9-1

3 thoughts on “St. Louis’ Urban Garden: New Roots Urban Farm

  1. Way to go on the recycling. I haven’t found a place downtown to go, though I’ve heard of them. I still take mine to U.City. I bring home lots of wine boxes, so fill them up (after rinsing out the bottles) and keep them in my trunk until I remember to swing by the spot.
    It is a noble endeavor and everyone should recycle the materials they use in the home. The real challenge is convincing businesses to do so.
    Much like alternative energy, the only way to encourage companies to recycle is to make it economically viable to them. We throw away so much glass (the best packaging material) at the shop. It makes me sick. Ever live near a bar? The bottles crash in the dumpsters at closing time.
    After throwing away so many at work, it feels like the effort I put into it at home is a sad little drop in the bucket.

  2. Jeff:

    We have tons of recycling spots in our neighborhood! The fire station on Jefferson and Crittenden is one, there is one is Soulard…the other fire station on Jefferson and Choteau…do not keep driving to U City!!!

Leave a Reply

