Help me St. Joseph

Rumor has it if you pray to St. Joseph, bury a statue of him upside down in your front yard…your house will sell. Mom picked up a statue for me this week. But the trick is to then continue the good mojo by prominently displaying St. Joe in a good spot in the new diggs.

Our house is for sale. Wanna buy it? I’m dying for a yard big enough for a garden…one besides potted herbs. Don’t get me wrong….I appreciate my potted rosemary, parsley, thyme and lavendar….but I crave more. It’s my nature. I wish I would have had one of these!

Food Map Containers…..could have been exactly what I was looking for. It’s too late now. We are selling the brownstone and looking for a big kid house. It’s a bittersweet moment for me. This was the first house I ever bought…way before I knew Si. I cut my proverbial ‘rehab’ teeth on this bugger. I will be sad to leave it….but happier to be in a house with a bigger kitchen and an actual dining room. This place was perfect for me as a single gal…lots of cocktail parties on the patio and late night Guinness sessions. Hard to do a dinner party for 12 in the main level when you don’t have a proper dining room.

So do me a favor…pray to St. Joseph that the guy who looked at the house this weekend buys it.

7 thoughts on “Help me St. Joseph

  1. I was all excited by this post ’til I got to the part about how you want a big kitchen. So do I. I wonder if your “big kitchen” and my “big kitchen” may not differ by say, a kitchen.

    Thanks for the heads up regarding the gooey butter cookies at Veruca (I think it was you that posted about them). I was certain they’d be too sweet and cloying (like gooey butter cake) but they are awesome. Also, apparently, I missed you by 5 minutes this morning. Mathew asked me how I’d heard about the place and I gave you credit (though how I missed this living just on the other side of the bridge is unclear). When he said, “she was just in here,” I thought he meant whatever day you posted about, and he said, “No, I mean, she was here 5 minutes ago…”

  2. Christy:

    You are welcome. I am one to tout something if it’s worthy of praise…and Veruca is more than worthy. It’s an almost daily stop for us. I have gained a considerable amount of thigh girth since Matty opened. And as for the kitchen…we have a nice space with a great appliances and beautiful cabinets/counters…I just want a kitchen table and more cabinet space. I converted the nook under the stairs into a pantry. Too bad Simon can’t fit into it…it’s for small folk like me. And by small, I mean short…not skinny. 😉

  3. Oh, to have a pantry that my husband could not junk up with his “food litter.” We may have to get cracking on the house buying thing before you sell yours.

  4. Not to but in on your chat but I just came across your site, love to see people follow their dreams. I am about to embark on my own journey as well, am alot older and not waisting anymore time. Adore Ireland & cheese; was just there for the second time this last fall. Keep me posted as I will buy your cheese. I had a statue upside down for 3 years and we couldn’t sell the house until I figured out it was the wrong statue. But 5 years later when it was sold; I said, thank you God for your plan not mine because my timing was so………….. off. I have also been in kitchen hell with my husband’s “food litter”, glad to know I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

