this little piggy went to market

It’s March. It’s St. Louis. It’s cold…but according to Mother Nature, Spring Equinox is slated for March 20, 2008. uh..right.

barter.jpg

All I know is that the River Hills Farmer’s Market opening day is tomorrow. If you have never been to the River Hills Farmer’s Market, located just about 70 miles NW of St. Louis in the quaint little town of Silex, MO…you should come with me tomorrow. It seems that on Saturdays into the 1930s the city fathers would gate off Main Street into stock pens so butcher stock could be loaded onto the Short Line. Eggs and cream were bartered for essentials, and horses and mules were traded on one end of town. Inspired by this in its search of a community-service project, the Silex 4-H Flyers club decided to recreate the traditions of a Saturday Market Day and thus, River Hills Farmers Market was born.

Amish baked goods, green beans and tomatoes, table eggs and hatching eggs, baby chicks, peafowl, goats and sheep are just a few of the weekly offerings. I can’t wait to gas up the truck and head up north for a day of fun in Silex.

From Localharvest.org:

River Hills Farmers Market is entering our 18th year. We are open on the 2nd and 4th Saturday, starting March the 8th. We offer a variety of market items, from Heritage poultry to Heirloom vegetables. On any given Saturday you can find Welsummer chickens, fresh country eggs, honey, fresh baked goods, Royal Palm Turkeys, local fruits and vegetables.

The Cheesemonger will be at the shop that day and unable to travel to the market. That means I will be left to my own devices. muuwhaaaahaaa!

**we will be leaving St. Louis at approx 8:45 am from Clayton.

7 thoughts on “this little piggy went to market

  1. Annie –

    So glad you found me (and thanks for the link) because what you’re doing is awesome and the way you write about it is lovely…

    What is it like to be married to a cheese monger? Oh! I’ll just have to keep reading. How fun!

    I’m re-jiggering the blogroll, so I’ll add you in the next few days. You can consider me one of your new fans!

    Kim

  2. Thanks for this info. Maybe I’ll be able to talk my husband into driving up there (depending on whether our respective colleges win their basketball games today, in which case we have basketball to attend to tomorrow).

  3. Oh, I’m definitely going to try to convince Brian to go with me. A lovely farm-raised roasted chicken sounds like the perfect dish for a Sunday afternoon. In other news, I tried a gooey butter cookie from Veruca yesterday. You were right– they’re too die for! My teeth hurt they were so sweet.

  4. Hey Annie,

    B has agreed to go, as long as I let him buy a goat. ?

    I’m not sure what time we’re leaving. I have to pick up my car from the shop in the morning, but perhaps we’ll see you there. I’ll wear my bright orange coat with a faux fur black hood.

    Also, we should do lunch some time if you’re in the area. I work in Soulard. Shoot me an email if you want to get together some time.

  5. What a neat website. I live outside St. Louis and have never heard of this market. I go to the Farmer’s Market downtown and I have been to the market in Tower Grove Park, but I think I will have to check this one out. Thanks for sharing. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  6. First off nice post. Im not sure if it has been talked about, however when using Chrome I can never get the whole blog to load without refreshing several times. Maybe just my modem. Appreciate your work

Leave a Reply

