Deconstructed, double pork lasagna; sans ricotta

so, I don’t know what to call this. I have been making this for some time now. it was born out of a need for cheesy, spicy, pasta bake when I didn’t have any lasagna noodles. It varies with every repeat but the gist of it goes like this:

1lb of noddles (penne rigate usually…i just like the way the slide onto my fork for easy upward motion to my mouth)

bechamel

spicy meat mixture

cheese/bread crumb topping.

It’s everything you need on one dish, creamy and comforting, good texture from the topping and spicy kick from the meat mixture. Today (I’m a bit under the weather and took the day to re-coup) I had some various pork products sitting in the fridge that needed to be used up. Bacon and prosciutto. I dare not put Jamón Ibérico Bellota into the mix but I did toy with the notion briefly.

So, I fried up the bacon, when it was crispy I threw in the prosciutto, shallots, garlic, oregano, basil, black pepper, red pepper flakes and pinch of sugar. Once all the flavors mangled together, I toppled in a can of tomato paste and thinned with a bit of stock. Note: I put A LOT of red/black pepper in that mix. It is way too spicy to eat with just pasta…I would not recommend it.

Then the basic bechamel. When desired consistency reached I shredded some Grandpa Ed and parmigiano reggiano into it (about a cup all together).

Par boiled the pasta for about 4 minutes. i like my pasta cruchy. al dente is a bit too soft for me. weird, huh. it’s a texture thing.

Then, in a gratin dish I spooned in some bechamel, then a layer of noodles, then some spicy pork mixture….and repeated until all used up. (lasagna-ish aspect of the dish) Put a lid of parm/some kind of hard cow’s milk cheese I found in the fridge that Si brought home that I don’t know the name of and some bread crumbs on the top and popped in a 375 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes until golden and bubbly.

it’s good.

2 thoughts on “Deconstructed, double pork lasagna; sans ricotta

  1. Kevin put the Iberico into a white bean soup that he served me the night we went, and I chastised him for it a bit later because you couldn’t really taste it because of the hock stock he’d used in the soup.

    I bought my second batch yesterday, and whoever cut it was not feeling the love like Simon was. it’s to thick. But it’s kind of interesting to have the thicker slices to almost suck on like jerky.

  2. i agree with you. putting it in dishes just wastes the flavor/experience. it’s one of those things you just need to eat as is. it’s that damn good.

    suckin’ on it like jerky, huh. I wouldn’t have minded cutting my teeth on that!

    not a big jerky fan but i’d take your word for it.

Leave a Reply

