I ain’t scared of no Mad Cow! Bring on the Haggis

This article ran across my computer screen this afternoon. I don’t know if any of you are familiar with haggis….but it’s good….when done properly. I like it almost as much as I like black pudding. mmmmmmmm…..congealed blood sausage.

LONDON (Reuters) – Scotland is considering lobbying the United States to lift a ban on haggis, hoping to boost sales of the sheep-stomach-based national dish.

The U.S. banned imports of Scottish haggis after Britain’s outbreak of mad cow disease, which is linked to the human brain illness Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease.

Scotland’s government insist its haggis — which usually contains the heart, liver and lungs wrapped inside a sheep’s stomach lining — is safe and wants the ban lifted.

“The Scottish government will consider engaging the U.S. government on its haggis import ban … It is safe or we wouldn’t eat it here,” said a spokeswoman. “We think there is a large market for it amongst expatriate Scots there.”

She cited growing sales of tartans and the prevalence of Scottish clubs as evidence that Americans were taking greater interest in their Scottish heritage.

Haggis, a globally recognized symbol of Scotland alongside bagpipes, kilts and Scotch whisky, is an essential part of Burns night celebrations, which commemorate national poet Robert Burns and fall on January 25.

Burns was the author of “Ode to a Haggis.”

 

burns.jpgSpeaking of Burns Night, I hope you all can make it down to the Schlafly Tap Room on Janurary 24, 2008 to celebrate with us. I can just feel the weight of the pint glass in my hand as I tip back and the Schlafly Scotch Ale just falls down my throat. Ugh…so good.

For details: www.schlafly.com

P.S….this just in…cheesemonger wants to go to the Scottish Arms….ugh.  Since Sarah isn’t here to to to the Tap Room with me…I MIGHT go with him to the Scottish Arms.  I do like it there and they have scotch eggs.  We’ll see!

One thought on “I ain’t scared of no Mad Cow! Bring on the Haggis

Leave a Reply

